How long do I have to file a workers comp claim in Illinois?

Categories: Illinois Workers’ Compensation Law. | January 9, 2023

Many people are surprised to hear that they are not eligible for workers’ compensation benefits because they didn’t file a claim within 45 days. In Illinois, no compensation shall be payable unless notice of the injury is given within 45 days after the occurrence of the accident.

Always report any workplace injury as soon as you are aware of the injury you received. Often employers and their insurance companies will look for any possible excuse to claim your injury happened outside of work.

You should contact an experienced Illinois Workers’ Compensation attorney to assist you in making sure you have provided your employer with the necessary injury notice within the required 45 days.

If you have an accident in the workplace, there are critical steps that must be followed:

– Obtain first aid or any other necessary medical treatment as soon as possible: Your claim is strengthened if you have medical treatment on the date of the accident that provides an accurate history of how the accident happened and the injuries suffered.

– Report your injury immediately: Notify your employer about the injury and the way in which it occurred, as soon as possible.

– Retain an attorney: Call Krol, Bongiorno & Given. Once you have received necessary emergency medical treatment, your next step is to call an experienced workers’ compensation attorney.

If you were recently injured on the job, time is of the essence if you wish to file for workers’ compensation benefits. At Krol, Bongiorno & Given, we fight for fair and full payment for injured workers in Illinois. Call (312) 726-5567 for a free consultation or contact us online.