Illinois Workers’ Compensation: Employer Requirements

Categories: Illinois Workers’ Compensation Law. | June 17, 2019

Under Illinois law, most employers are required to have workers compensation insurance. The insurance companies then fund the payment of worker’s compensation benefits for employees who suffer work-related injuries. In case there is a dispute, the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission (IWCC, or the Commission) enforces the state’s work injury laws and resolves disputes regarding work-related injuries and illnesses.

Illinois employers are required to:

– Post a public notice that explains workers’ compensation rights and provides the name, full policy number, and contact information of the insurance carrier.
– Maintain records of work-related injuries and report any injuries that involve more than 3 days of lost work to the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commitee
– Refrain from harassing, firing, or refusing to rehire any employee who exercises their rights under the law.
– Refrain from billing employees for any part of the workers’ compensation insurance premiums.

Employers have been known to not be fully honest with their workers about their rights under Illinois workers’ compensation law. Employers may rely on the fact that most people are not familiar with the nuances of workers comp policy. By neglecting to provide accurate information about making a claim and documenting injuries, employers can steer injured workers away from exercising their legal options.

If you would like help filing your workers compensation claim, Krol, Bongiorno, & Given’s experienced workers comp lawyers are here to help. With over 60 years of combined legal experience, the KBG law firm is a leader in the field of workers’ compensation law and we have earned the reputation as aggressive advocates for injured workers before the IWCC. Contact us today for a consultation on your situation.